Thursday, April 15, 2010


Newport Beach, Ca. – The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has announced the 2010 Watch List for the seventh annual Lott Trophy. 

One spends summers on medical missions in Africa; one was diagnosed with a brain tumor in high school; another is coming back from cancer.

One led the country in sacks last season, another in interceptions.

They are just five of the 42 selected to the 2010 Lott Trophy Watch List, a cross-section of the finest student-athletes on the college football landscape.

Sam Acho of Texas (missions), Robert Quinn of North Carolina (high school tumor) and Mark Herzlich (cancer survivor) of Boston College have unique stories off the field, but like the other nominees they are outstanding performers on it, making them ideal candidates for the seventh annual Lott Trophy.

Von Miller (sack leader) of Texas A&M and Rahim Moore (interception leader) of UCLA are back, looking to be leaders once again.

The 2010 Lott Trophy Watch List was announced at a luncheon in Newport Beach by Ronnie Lott. 

As a group, the 42 intercepted 81 passes last season and sacked opposing quarterbacks 185 times.

Thirty-six different schools are represented on the annual Lott Watch List with six schools -- UCLA, North Carolina, Ohio State, Oregon, LSU and Virginia Tech -- each having two candidates.

“This is a superb list of young men,” said Ronnie Lott, announcing the Watch List at a luncheon in Newport Beach.  “We at the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation are always pleased to see the accomplishments of such outstanding student-athletes, all of whom are worthy of consideration for the Lott Trophy.”

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation in Newport Beach, Ca., the award is given to a player who exhibit’s the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. 

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, members of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors and distinguished alumni of various schools around the nation.

The winner, who will be announced at the annual black-tie gala in December, receives $25,000 for his school’s general scholarship fund.  Three runner-ups each receive $5,000. 

        The previous winners of the Lott Trophy:

        2004 - David Pollack, Georgia

        2005 - DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

        2006 - Dante Hughes, Cal

        2007 - Glenn Dorsey, LSU

        2008 - James Laurinaitis, Ohio State

        2009 - Jerry Hughes, TCU

In six years, the IMPACT Foundation has now donated more than $750,000 to various charities. 

View the entire 2010 Lott Trophy Watch List at

No comments: