Sunday, April 5, 2009


SAN FRANCISCO-- The Los Angeles Dodgers today announced their Opening Day roster for the 2009 championship season. The club also placed right-handed pitcher Jason Schmidt on the 15-day disabled list, retroactive to March 30, to recover from a right shoulder labrum tear. General Manager Ned Colletti made the announcement.

According to Major League Baseball rules, each of the 30 teams had to set their Opening Day roster today by 12:00 noon Pacific time. The Dodgers will make additional roster moves prior to tomorrow's Opening Day game at the San Diego Padres.

The 25-man roster, which today stands at 24 players, as broken down by position:

Pitchers (11):
Chad Billingsley
Jonathan Broxton
Clayton Kershaw (L)
Hiroki Kuroda
Hong-Chih Kuo (L)
James McDonald
Guillermo Mota
Ramon Troncoso
Claudio Vargas
Cory Wade
Randy Wolf (L)

Catchers (2):
Brad Ausmus
Russell Martin

Infielders (6):
Casey Blake
Blake DeWitt
Rafael Furcal
Orlando Hudson
James Loney
Mark Loretta

Outfielders (5):
Andre Ethier
Matt Kemp
Juan Pierre
Manny Ramirez
Delwyn Young

No comments: