Thursday, November 5, 2009

Brut Sun Bowl Aligns With Pac-10, ACC Through 2013

EL PASO, Texas (November 5, 2009) – The Brut Sun Bowl officially announced today it has extended its partnership with the Pac-10 Conference through 2013 and aligned with the Atlantic Coast Conference from 2010-2013.

The new alignment will feature the third selection after the Bowl Championship Series from the Pac-10 against either the runner-up of the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game or the third selection after the BCS from the ACC.

“We are extremely excited to forge this new partnership,” said Frank Bates, president of the Sun Bowl Association. “We have had such a strong and long-standing relationship with the Pac-10. Having the opportunity to pair the Pac-10 with the Atlantic Coast Conference could really prove to be some exciting matchups.”

The Brut Sun Bowl has the second longest current relationship with the Pac-10, hosting a league school for 14 consecutive years. Nine of the league’s 10 schools have participated in the Brut Sun Bowl 25 times, with California as the lone school to have never played in the Sun Bowl.

“The Pac-10 is very happy to extend its longtime relationship with the Brut Sun Bowl,” said Commissioner Larry Scott. “The Sun Bowl has been a good and loyal partner over the years and through its New Year's Eve positioning on CBS provides an excellent showcase for the Pac-10 teams. We look forward to many more years of partnership.”

The Atlantic Coast Conference is also no stranger to the Brut Sun Bowl, but has not sent a team to El Paso since 1994. In all, ACC schools have made 10 appearances, with North Carolina appearing four times – 1972, 1974, 1982 and 1994.

The 1994 Sun Bowl between Texas and North Carolina was named the greatest Sun Bowl ever played at last year’s 75th Brut Sun Bowl.

“As someone who has been to the Sun Bowl, I can tell you that it was one of the best bowl trips that I have ever experienced,” said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. “We are looking forward to having a compelling match-up with the Pac-10, while also being part of the storied bowl history and tradition. This partnership will provide special and memorable experiences for our student-athletes and fans.”

The Pac-10 Conference consists of Arizona, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA, USC, Washington and Washington State. The Atlantic Coast Conference includes Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Maryland, Miami, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest.

The 76th Brut Sun Bowl is slated for Thursday, Dec. 31 at Noon (MT) at Sun Bowl Stadium. This year’s game features the Pac-10 Conference against the Big 12 Conference. Tickets are available by calling 915-533-4416 or online at

No comments: