Wednesday, December 3, 2008


One-Hour Telecast Airs Live on Sunday, December 14th; College Football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year Will Be Awarded

Los Angeles -- On Sunday, December 14, Fox Sports WEST will telecast a one-hour live telecast of The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation 2008 Lott Trophy Award presentation. Event coverage from the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif., begins at approximately 9:30 PM immediately after the Minnesota Timberwolves vs. Los Angeles Lakers post-game "Lakers Live" show. Reporters Bill Macdonald and Michael Eaves will host the Fox Sports WEST coverage of the event.

Hall of fame sports commentator Keith Jackson is the keynote speaker for the event. Best known for broadcasting college football, Jackson has received many awards throughout his 50-plus years of contribution to the sport. He was inducted into the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame in 1995.

Since 2004, the Lott Trophy has been awarded annually to college football's most deserving Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. The athlete who is bestowed with this honor signifies the epitome of the IMPACT acronym - Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity - through his mastery of the sport and reputation as a role model. The award is named after the former USC All-American, College Football and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Ronnie Lott. David Pollack of Georgia (2004), DeMeco Ryans of Alabama (2005), Dante Hughes of Cal (2006) and Glenn Dorsey of LSU (2007) were the winners of the first four Lott Trophies.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation will make a $25,000 contribution to the general scholarship fund of the winner's university and a $5,000 donation to the schools of the other finalists.

Voting for the 2008 Lott Trophy consist of ballots distributed to The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors, a Board of Advisors made up of former NFL players and coaches, 17 members of the Master Coaches, offensive and defensive college coordinators, and sports journalists.

No comments: