Wednesday, December 5, 2007


UPDATE: In case you missed the show or the news, LSU's Glenn Dorsey won this year's Lott Trophy. Going in to the presentation, I believed he was the best defensive player in college football this year. And actually, he should have placed much higher in the Heisman voting as well.

However, after doing more research on this young man and then talking to him at the awards dinner, I am even more convinced that the Pacific Club could not have a better person to represent the Lott Trophy. His athletic talent and dedication are only surpassed by his class and humility. He has truly made an IMPACT on and off the field.

Lott Trophy Presented to College Football Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year
Event Telecast Airs Sunday, December 9 at 9:30 PM Live from Newport Beach

Los Angeles – On Sunday, December 9, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation presents the 2007 IMPACT Award from Orange County’s prestigious Pacific Club. FSN WEST, the regional sports network with over two decades serving sports fans in Southern California, Nevada and Hawaii with comprehensive telecast coverage of local team games and events, will provide live telecast coverage of the black-tie banquet from The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif.

The FSN WEST event telecast begins live on Sunday, December 9 at approximately 9:30 PM, after the Golden State Warriors vs. Los Angeles Lakers post-game “Lakers Live” show on FSN WEST. Bill Macdonald hosts the event; Michael Eaves provides interviews and reporting.

The IMPACT Award recognizes annually college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. An acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity, the IMPACT Award honors exemplary athletic prowess and sound personal character. The IMPACT Award tradition began in 2004 when the Lott Trophy was presented to David Pollack of Georgia. Named for the former USC All-American and College Football Hall of Fame inductee Ronnie Lott, the trophy, designed by Michelle Armitage. is a bronzed depiction of a defensive player making a tackle.

Four finalists for the 2007 IMPACT Award have been named. Glenn Dorsey of Louisiana State University, James Laurinaitis of The Ohio State University, J Leman of The University of Illinois and Chris Long of The University of Virginia will attend the ceremony on December 9 in Newport Beach. The IMPACT Award winner will receive the 2007 Lott Trophy. Additionally, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation will make a $25,000 contribution to the general scholarship fund of the winner’s university. Similarly, $5,000 will be donated to the schools of the other three finalists.

Voting for the 2007 IMPACT Award is tabulated by Ernst & Young. Ballots are distributed to college offensive and defensive coordinators, sports journalists, The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors, and a Board of Advisors made up of former NFL players and coaches along with the 17 members of the Master Coaches.

Together, FSN WEST and sister network FSN PRIME TICKET present more live, local sports programming than any other network or broadcast system in the market. Serving sports fans in Southern California, Nevada and Hawaii, FSN WEST and FSN PRIME TICKET produce over 700 live sporting events and telecast 5,000 hours of original programming every year. For complete national and regional sports news, provocative opinions, telecast schedules and updated statistics, log-on to

No comments: